Ferdinand Marcos Jr. sworn in as 17th Philippine president

Thirty-six years after his dictator father was ousted, Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. reclaims Malacañang.

The Marcoses have returned to Malacañang.

Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. took his oath as the 17th president of the Philippines at The National Museum of Fine Arts in Manila at noon on Thursday, June 30.

Marcos Jr., the son and namesake of the late dictator, was sworn in by Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo.

Photos courtesy of PCOO

He was joined by his family including his mother former first lady Imelda Marcos, his wife Atty. Liza Araneta, their children, and sisters Senator Imee Marcos and Irene Araneta.

Also present at the inauguration was Marcos Jr’s running mate Vice President Sara Duterte.

[READ: Sara Duterte takes oath as 15th VP of PH]

In his inaugural speech, President Ferdinand 'Bongbong' Marcos Jr. said he shares the same dream of the Filipino people…

Posted by The Cavite Rising on Friday, July 1, 2022

With more than 31 million votes, it is a historic victory for the 64-year-old Marcos Jr. as he emerged as the first post-EDSA majority president. The 1986 People Power Revolution is a popular uprising that toppled his father, the late kleptocratic strongman Ferdinand Marcos Sr.

[READ: Bongbong Marcos in landslide win in PH presidential election]

Photos courtesy of PCOO

Marcos Jr’s bid for the presidency has met opposition from various groups, including victims of human rights abuses during his father’s rule, which was also marked by cronyism and corruption.

The Supreme Court had earlier dismissed petitions that sought to cancel Marcos Jr’s certificate of candidacy and disqualify him, clearing his path of legal obstacles before the day of the inauguration.

Aside from assuming the country’s top government position, Marcos Jr. is also temporarily sitting as the secretary of the Department of Agriculture.

[READ: LIST: Cabinet Members under Marcos Administration]

After his long political career in Ilocos Norte, Marcos Jr. served as a senator from 2010 to 2016. He then ran for vice president but lost in the 2016 elections.

Thumbnail photo courtesy of PCOO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts