Cavite remains under MECQ until October 15

There is no easing of lockdown restrictions in Cavite yet as the province stays under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until mid-October.

The modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) over Cavite has been extended until October 15, Malacañang said Thursday. 

Cavite recently saw a drop in the COVID-19 reproduction rate that indicates slower virus’ transmission according to an independent research group.

The province, which has been under MECQ since August, still has 5,686 active virus carriers as of September 30. 

Meanwhile, Metro Manila is still under Alert Level 4 — the second-highest level of the government’s new alert level system — until October 15, but now with expanded operations for businesses.

RELATED: What to expect during pilot run of new COVID-19 alert system in NCR

Other quarantine classifications

The following areas will also be put under MECQ until October 15:

  • Apayao
  • Kalinga
  • Batanes
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Naga City
  • Iloilo Province.

Areas placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions from October 1 to 31, 2021 are as follows: 

  • Abra
  • Baguio City
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Pangasinan
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • City of Santiago
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo City
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Negros Oriental
  • Bohol
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Butuan City
  • Surigao del Sur

Davao de Oro will also be under GCQ with heightened restrictions but only from October 1 to 15, 2021.

Meanwhile, the following areas will be under the regular GCQ for the entire month of October:

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Dagupan City
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Tarlac
  • Marinduque
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte
  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Cebu City
  • Cebu Province
  • Mandaue City
  • Siquijor
  • Tacloban City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Cotabato City
  • Lanao del Sur

Areas not mentioned will be under the most lenient modified general community quarantine until the end-October.

The Philippines’ COVID-19 cases increased by another 14,786 on Saturday, October 2, with the number of active cases totalling 144,061. 

Meanwhile, over 21 million people in the country have already been fully vaccinated against the viral respiratory illness so far. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts