Cavite stays under MECQ until May 14

With the continuous increase in coronavirus cases in the country, Cavite will remain under the second strictest quarantine status for two more weeks.

President Rodrigo Duterte has extended anew the implementation of modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) in Cavite and several other areas until May 14.

The President announced the new quarantine classifications in a pre-recorded speech on Wednesday, two days before the existing MECQ in the greater Manila area expires. 

Apart from Cavite, areas also under MECQ for two more weeks are Metro Manila, Bulacan, Laguna, and Rizal. 

These areas, which are collectively known as ‘NCR Plus’, shifted to MECQ on April 12 after the two-week reimposition of enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) to curb the brisk rise in COVID-19 cases being logged in recent weeks.

Other quarantine classifications 

Santiago City in Isabela province, as well as the provinces of Quirino and Abra will also be under MECQ for the entire month of May. 

Meanwhile, areas under GCQ are Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Quezon, Tacloban City in Leyte, Iligan City in Northern Mindanao and Davao City.

The rest of the country will be under modified GCQ.

To date, there are 1,020,495 total cases of COVID-19 reported nationwide, of whom 935, 695 have recovered, 10,739 have died, while 67,769 remain active.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts