COMELEC OKs voter registration in Cavite, other MECQ areas

Caviteños and residents of other areas placed under MECQ can register to vote beginning September 6.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Wednesday approved voter registration in areas under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) including Cavite.

Voter registration will resume starting September 6 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Aside from Cavite, the following areas are also put under MECQ until September 7 – the second toughest of all forms of lockdown:

  • Metro Manila
  • Apayao
  • Ilocos Norte 
  • Bulacan 
  • Bataan
  • Lucena City 
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Aklan
  • Iloilo Province
  • Iloilo City
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Cebu City
  • Mandaue City 
  • Cagayan de Oro City

READ: Cavite to remain under MECQ until September 7

The poll body previously allowed voter registration only in areas under general community quarantine (GCQ) and modified GCQ. 

For appointments, those who will be registering may either fill up a form via irehistro website or through walk-ins at the nearest COMELEC office.

Registrants were earlier advised to bring a valid identification card with photo and address, as well as to wear a face mask and face shield and to always observe physical distancing.

To recall, a mobile registration application was launched by COMELEC last June but the poll body took it down two days later ‘to prioritize its use in pilot areas’. 

READ: Step-by-step: How to register to vote using COMELEC’s mobile app

As of Friday, there are over 61.06 million registered voters for the May 2022 general elections. Voter registration is only until September 30, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts